A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > First Grade

Old 03-16-2008, 06:37 PM
Novice

Toronto, ON
1st Grade Teacher
visualizing

I have been reading Debbie Millers book, and I was wondering if anyone had any lessons or ideas for making mental images. I find some of the books she reccomends a little to high for my kids.

Old 03-17-2008, 09:39 PM
Connoisseur

New York
Reading Teacher
I've used The Napping House.
Worked great!!!!
Old 03-18-2008, 07:25 PM
Novice

Toronto, ON
1st Grade Teacher
Could you tell me a little bit more about your lesson. This is my first year and I feel confidant teaching connections, but not visualizing.
Old 03-18-2008, 08:30 PM
Phenom

I haven't read Miller's book, but I know that we tell the kids to pretend that they are watching a movie in their heads when they visualize.

Do you think that reading somethig to them and then having them illustrate and explain may be a good lesson? Not all pictures will be the same and that could be an interesting way to diverge.
Old 03-18-2008, 10:10 PM
Connoisseur

New York
Reading Teacher