A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Third Grade

Old 02-21-2008, 12:03 AM
Rookie

Houston, Tx/ Wichita, Ks
Student Teacher
Seasons and Earth's orbit lesson plan?

Hi to all!

I am now to this site....well I am new to posting on this site. I frequent it quite often. I am a student teacher and I have one of my first big lessons coming up in about a week or so. I need to teach a 3rd grade lesson on the seasons and the earth's orbit.

Does anyone have any neat ideas? Comments? suggestions???

Thanks in advance!

Old 02-21-2008, 10:11 PM
Aficionado

North Carolina
4th Grade Teacher
Quote:
Originally Posted by miss_wells View Post
Hi to all!

I am now to this site....well I am new to posting on this site. I frequent it quite often. I am a student teacher and I have one of my first big lessons coming up in about a week or so. I need to teach a 3rd grade lesson on the seasons and the earth's orbit.

Does anyone have any neat ideas? Comments? suggestions???

Thanks in advance!
I've taught this unit for several years. 1st -- make sure you have a complete understanding of what causes seasons and what does not. I watched in horror as a "science teacher" at a school taught her third graders that it became winter because the Earth was fartheest away in its orbit from the sun and it became summer when the Earth moved closer to the sun! Of course, that is totally incorrect.

2nd, Make sure the students understand what the Earth's axis is, and why the Earth's 23.5 degree tilt on its axis is what causes seasons.

For fun, explain that seasons are opposite in different parts of the world. There is a good Science Court video about this, if your school has it. It explains why, when it is summer in North America, it is winter in Australia.
Old 05-06-2008, 08:00 PM
Novice

North Carolina
3rd Grade Teacher