A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Special Education Archives

Old 04-12-2004, 03:36 PM
Rookie

Western NC, USA
Working with a BD Student?

I'm a regular education teacher who has a student in the classroom with serious emotional problems. It has taken a lot of patience and a lot of class time working this child. Though he has made progress, I wonder if I'm doing the right thing, and am looking for support from other teachers. Anyone out there work with children with behavioral or emotional disorders? Would love to talk to you!

Old 04-12-2004, 04:23 PM
A to Z Teacher Stuff Owner

Missouri
Former K/1 Teacher
I'll bet we all can relate to you in some way or another! There seems to always be at least one in every class. I have one this year that has bipolar disorder. She has quite a year with being on 2 different types of meds and dealing with a misdiagnosis. It has been really hard for me because I suspected bipolar disorder from the beginning, and she was just now diagnosed and taken off the meds she was taking for ADHD. (Antidepressants/stimulants make the bipolar disorder worse. )

It does take a lot of class time to deal with students like this, and a lot of emotional energy. However, sometimes I have MORE trouble with those kids that are not emotionally disturbed, but equally disruptive. My girl with bipolar disorder is more predictable than them, at least now that I have known her all year.
Old 04-12-2004, 05:26 PM
Rookie

Western NC, USA