A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Fifth Grade

Old 12-03-2007, 10:22 PM
Virtuoso

US of A
3/4, Classical Educator
What does guided reading look like in fifth grade?

I've never done guided reading before, ever. I've heard of it, learned about it in school, but never had the oppurtunity to try it out in my own classroom. When I taught kinder, I just did not have the resource to buy the books and none of our programs came with enough books to do guided reading. Well, I have the books now to try out guided reading. I haven't yet because, well, I'm clueless as to where to start. I did a little research on the web, but I found mostly information for younger grades. I figure, I'll just come right here and ask you guys.

Do you do guided reading, tips, suggestions, how long do you spend with each group? I imagine that you meet with the lower level group more often than the higher level group. Anyways, any help and ideas would be great. Thanks! Actually, a routine or schedule on your guided reading groups would be great. For example, what do you do first and how long, second and how long, etc. Oi!!! Am I asking too much?

Old 12-04-2007, 04:01 AM
Rookie

MD
5th Grade Teacher
At my school we teach guided reading every day for about 45 minutes. We have 3 groups- below, on, and above level. What reading program do you use? We use Houghton Mifflin and it comes with the series of guided books to use (although i find them to be very small and they certainly take NOWHERE near a week to get through). I spend the first 2-3 days getting through the books themselves and working on skill sheets. The program itself has very little to supplement the books-- maybe 3 worksheets, one of which is usually a crossword or some vocabulary sheet that I don't find beneficial.