A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Middle School / Junior High

Old 11-28-2007, 07:34 AM
Rookie

Kansas
7th and 8th Grade Teacher
Matrix Reasoning

This is my first year teaching at the school I am at now, and the previous school I was at did not do any IEP evaluations. One of my students here got an IEP done and it showed a very low score in Matrix Reasoning, but the rest of her scores are average or above average. Could someone please tell me what this means and what kind of approach I need to take with this student? She struggles in all of her classes, spelling especially, but I think a lot of it is that if the work is hard she simply gives up. Advice is appreciated. Thank you.
Kristy

Old 12-01-2007, 06:48 PM
Newcomer

Colorado
School Psychology Practicum Student
Matrix reasoning is a nonverbal perceptual problem solving skill. I came across your post while searching for information on what classroom skills are most likely to be affected by it. From what I can gather it is most likely related to mathematical concepts like following an algorithm, like comparing a partial quotient with a divisor to see if another subtraction is necessary in a division problem. Getting information from a diagram in science or reading maps in social studies are related skills. Spelling is also a visual skill so it is somewhat related.

It is equally difficult to find out what to do to help a student with low matrix reasoning. Some people say to do puzzles or art work with geometric forms, but if this is difficult for her to begin with I wonder why just doing more of it is going to help?