A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Fifth Grade

Old 08-21-2007, 04:33 PM
Rookie

New York
5th Grade Teacher
New and Overwhelmed Fifth Grade Teacher

Hi -

I'm a new fifth grade teacher in NYC and I am really feeling overwhelmed. School begins for students on Sept. 4th. I won't be able to get into my classroom until Thursday to begin setting up. I am so envious of those of you who have had an opportunity over the summer to set-up and plan. (Your rooms look beautiful by the way!)

I just got the teacher's editions and I'm not even sure what I should be doing with them! To be honest I find them a little convoluted and confusing. I also haven't met with the rest of my grade level teachers yet and I feel like I don't have the first clue as to how to do any of this. I feel so stressed out and the school year hasn't even officially begun!

I have managed to complete my behavior management system and most of my procedures. I also have a few ice breaker and community building activities planned as well.

What else should I be doing? I have never felt so totally overwhelmed and unprepared. I spend every moment doubting myself and reprimanding myself for not having more done. I could use some guidance from both new teachers and more experienced teachers.

Old 08-21-2007, 04:47 PM

Florida
Hang in there. You've made quite a bit of progress. You could look at your texts or your school's scope and sequence (if they have one) and map out a general plan for the year for several subjects. Use the teacher guides to get ideas for creative activities, projects, etc., and also for review questions. Each day before you start a lesson, plan to review the prior lessons briefly.

I think you will feel better when you're actually teaching real kids instead of in your mind!
Old 08-21-2007, 04:56 PM
Rookie

New York
5th Grade Teacher