A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > New Teachers

Old 08-14-2007, 09:57 PM
Newcomer

South Carolina
7th grade Language Arts
Need help with first day of first year!

This is my first year teaching and I will be in 7th grade LA. We begin school in 7 days and we just- today -had our first "induction" meeting. I am so overwhelmed I want to cry. Could someone help me with what I need to be doing? I've read a lot of these posts, which are sooo helpful and they all say to get procedures down. Is there a list of procedures I need to be sure to cover? What do I need to plan for the first day? What should be up on the walls? And someone, please, tell me what I should include in my parent letter. I know everyone says to include a grading policy, but if I have no idea yet of what I am even doing, how do I come up with a grading policy?

In addition to all this, today we were told we have all this extra work that will have to be done for the "induction" classes that will be graded on a pass/fail basis. I told my husband I may have made a mistake. I mean, I can't figure out what to do the first day, let alone a long range plan! I know it probably sounds like I learned nothing in school, and I almost feel that way. I do know that I am not prepared for the first day to hit in 1 week!

Old 08-15-2007, 11:22 AM
Rookie

New Jersey
Special Education Teacher
Take a deep breath! Everything will be fine! There are a lot of us feeling the same way! Sit down tonight and start drafting ideas:
what is your discipline policy?
how will homework be handled? will it be graded or just checked?
how will you work your grading for the semester? Is it going to be on a point basis or a percentage basis?
what will you do if a student misses a class?
what should a student do if they finish an in class assignment early?