A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Debate & Marathon Threads Archive

Old 06-07-2007, 02:42 PM
Rookie

Columbia, SC
Student Teacher
Building a Teacher's Wardrobe

I seriously need to build my professional wardrobe. Since I have begun my practica, I have found myself struggling to get dressed on the mornings that I have to attend a school. I have some dress pants and shirts, but I always feel overdressed. On the other hand, I cannot even consider wearing my jeans and Rainbow flip flops, but that is mostly what I have (I am a college student). I want to look nice and I want the teachers that I work with to respect me and think highly of me. How do I find that inbetween? How do teachers expect/want their student teachers and practicum students to dress? What are some good basics for an Elementary Education major who is in the process of building a professional wardrobe?

Old 06-07-2007, 03:55 PM
Devotee

Nevada
2nd Grade Teacher
I would suggest seperates. Skirts (around knee length) and blouses usually work well.
Old 06-07-2007, 04:12 PM
Companion

You want to look your age while still looking professional. Ann Taylor Loft has some nice pieces you can mix. They also have awesome sales if you go at the right time!
Old 06-07-2007, 04:19 PM
Multitudinous

NEW YORK
Math teacher
Kohls also has a lot of stuff in a variety of styles. Their website is great, and shipping is frequently $5, no matter what you buy. Sign up and they'll send you notices about sales.
Old 06-07-2007, 04:34 PM
Connoisseur

Illinois
1st Grade Teacher
I like New York and Company for nice pants, and they have some nice basic tops, too. You can typically find coupons in magazines like Cosmo, and they have frequent sales, too.
Old 06-07-2007, 08:10 PM
Rookie

Florida
Special Education Teacher