A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Behavior Management

Old 06-02-2007, 10:07 AM
Cohort

Oklahoma
Kindergarten Teacher
5th grade ideas for behavior management

I'm new to 5th grade. What works best at this age? I'm used to Pre-K where I used sticks for each student and moved them for not following rules from "happy cup" to "straight face cup" to "sad cup". At the end of the day, if a student was in "happy cup" , they earned a sticker for their behavior chart. When the sticker was full, they got to get into my treasure box.
Would this type of system work for 5th? I don't know.
Please, if you work with this age group, let me know what works for your class.

Old 06-02-2007, 04:58 PM
Comrade

PA
High School Learning Support
I just student taught for seven weeks in a sixth grade inner city school. The students were not dangerous (as some inner city schools may be--just saw a news of a third student death this school year due to guns/gangs in Chicago), but unruly and confrontational toward one another.

I used a whole-class behavior management system. Granted, I was student teaching, so I had to capitalize on time, since I did not have much of it.

I gave them a "Challenge." Each day, they could earn up to either one or two points. The points gathered day after day. Once they reached 10 points, we'd watch a part of a movie and have a snack. Tangibles work--as undesirably as extrinsic motivation seems to be.

I had three classes, so each class had a small box drawn on the dry-erase board with the homeroom number and the total points they earned.

Beneath that, I wrote numbers 6 down through 1 (six on the left, one on the right).

The Rules of the Challenge:
- Keep at least a 3