A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > General Education Archives

Old 05-31-2007, 08:17 AM
Novice

North Carolina
Kindergarten Teacher
What do you do with a 5th grader who can't read?

HELP!!! I'm currently a 1st grade teacher but am preparing for an interview for a 5th grade position and I'm aware that one of their questions will be: What do you do with a 5th grader who can't read? I'm stuck! What exactly DO you do? Other than work one on one, provide additional supportive materials, etc! HELP!

Old 05-31-2007, 09:48 AM
Aficionado

Nebraska
To Be Determined
I would have a conference with the parents about getting the child some outside tutoring. I know that's not what you're after, but there it is. Without help to get the child to a functional reading level, I'm not sure there's much a classroom teacher can do alone.

That said, when I tutor students who "can't read" I usually encounter older students reading at a first or second grade level. Is this what you mean or are they truely illiterate? When I tutor these children we start off with phoneme flash cards and simple vocabulary activities. I also have them read to me at their readability level from some sort of high interest/low readability materials. Could be leveled readers from our reading series, newpaper comics, some of those DK eyewitness books (boys love these), or whatever. I have to get them reading something that interests them. I will also sometimes read to/with them until they feel more confident. I make a routine of flash cards, vocabulary excercise, reading. The first two for about 10-15 minutes each, reading the rest of the time. The combo seems to really help them along. I also make a big deal to the parents that the child MUST do at least 15 minutes of pleasure reading at home, preferably aloud so the parents can help them along.