A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Secondary Education Archives

Old 05-29-2007, 06:22 PM
Companion

Indiana
How to decorate high school classroom?

I was a traveling teacher this year, but I'm getting my own classroom next year. I teach high school English. Does anyone have any ideas? How can I creatively and cheaply decorate my classroom? If anyone has pictures of their classrooms, please PM me and I'll send you my e-mail! Thanks!

Old 05-29-2007, 09:57 PM
Comrade

Texas
Official Bio Teacher!
I've been wondering the same thing!
I want my room to be fun but not too cluttered or childish.
Old 05-29-2007, 11:57 PM
Novice

Colorado
English Teacher
As a first year teacher next year, I'll get to decorate my room here in the next few weeks. (The department head is letting me start early!) My plan is to choose my favorite quotes from literary works or literary figures in history and post them all around the room. I'll layer one piece of colored paper on top of another (to create a border) and write one word of the quote on it. Then I'll do it again and again until each word creates the whole quote. I plan to choose a BUNCH of different quotes until I think the room has my own personal charisma. And, I'm partial to stars, so I think I'll do something with stars in our school colors, too.

Oh! And I also want to find some 6-trait posters to hang up too, but I want some freebies. Anyone know where you can get those "cheasy" posters that teachers have around their rooms all the time?
Old 05-30-2007, 12:14 PM
Novice

Texas
High School Spanish Intern
www.teachersdiscovery.com has lots of great stuff for decorating.
Old 05-30-2007, 06:37 PM
Companion

SW Wisconsin