A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Elementary Education Archives

Old 05-21-2007, 08:02 PM
Novice

What is your definition of "citizenship" award?

I am required to give a Citizenship Award to a boy and a girl from my room. I have 6 boys, and well, it's hard to choose. They've all been in trouble. Some are very smart.
So, since I'm a new first grade teacher, what qualities would you look for when choosing a student for this particular awar?

Old 05-21-2007, 08:21 PM
Connoisseur

Midwest
1st Grade Teacher
We give a citizenship award to one boy and one girl in each classroom. We give it to the boy and girl who always went above and beyond in helping others.

Personally, I wish we did not have awards at the end of the year.
Old 05-21-2007, 08:31 PM

Florida
To me, being a good citizen means following the rules, being willing to work hard, helping others, being responsible for one's own property, being respectful of other people and their property.

We don't do awards like these, either.
Old 05-22-2007, 07:31 PM
Companion

Alabama
I don't have anyone to give this type of award to. They won't let me give out The Biggest Baby Award, The Diva Award, The Bratz Award, The Energizer Bunny Award, and my favorite The I Don't Know How To Stop Talking Award!
Old 05-22-2007, 07:33 PM
Multitudinous

Ontario, Canada
Grade 7/8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Momzoid
I don't have anyone to give this type of award to. They won't let me give out The Biggest Baby Award, The Diva Award, The Bratz Award, The Energizer Bunny Award, and my favorite The I Don't Know How To Stop Talking Award!
I have candidates for all of these as well!
Old 05-22-2007, 07:51 PM
Companion

Alabama