A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > New Teachers

Old 04-16-2007, 02:10 PM
Rookie

New York
Any of you embarrassed that you can't control your class?

I'm serious. I have first graders at an inner city school. I went into this job really excited. Of course, I didn't really want first grade, but I took it. These kids are wild! Being a man, you think I'd be able to control a bunch of six year olds. But no! I can't! I have several with ADHD, one kid likes to walk around the class and punch other kids. and several of my kids like to imitate pro-wrestlers between the rows of desks I have. I am a first year teacher and when people ask me how it's going (especially other teachers who teacher older grades), I am so embarrassed. Any one know how I feel about the embarrassment of lack of classroom managment?

Old 04-16-2007, 02:18 PM

USA
Kindergarten Teacher
You have rows of desks? Like you would see in high school? sorry totally off topic. Just trying to picture your classroom.
Old 04-16-2007, 02:22 PM
Multitudinous

NEW YORK
Math teacher
Hi DAve and welcome!

I'm secondary math on LI, so I'm not much direct help to you.

But instead of being embarassed, it's time to up the ante and take some action.

Can you give us some idea of your routine? Anything that will help the pros here (meaning almost everyone but me) help you?

Have you asked some of the veteran teachers in your own school to observe your class? I'm guessing some might have some concrete ideas to help you.
Old 04-16-2007, 02:26 PM
Rookie

South Texas
2nd Grade Teacher