A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > New Teachers Archives

Old 07-27-2003, 01:13 PM
Newcomer

letter to parents

Hi! I'm a 1st year teacher,(2nd) grade and am at loss as to what to write in a letter to parents on the first day od school. I know what to include, I just have a writers block as to what I want to say and in what order (supplies, a little info about me, what my plans are for the coming year, etc.). Can anyone help? This is a letter for the students to take home after their 1st day of school. I would appreciate any and ALL help. Thanks, Ilene

Old 07-27-2003, 01:18 PM
Multitudinous

New Jersey
Grade 3
I send the following in August to ask parents to write me a letter with their concerns and things they want me to know about their child. I won't see the bulk of my parents until Open House in October, so their letter let's them address any concerns they have. I also make a 'happy call' about each child within the first 3 weeks of school. You could also add a little intro about yourself in your letter if you are new in the school.

Dear Families,

I am delighted to welcome your child to ----- grade. I hope you are sharing an enjoyable summer together!

It is my goal that your child’s ----- grade experience will be filled with personal growth as a thinker and learner. I am looking forward to starting this adventure!