A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Montessori

Old 03-09-2007, 03:31 AM
Newcomer

Auckland
Student Teacher
Montessori Maths question

Hi there,
I'm a student teacher and am currently training in Montessori for primary in New Zealand. As part of the requirements of my maths assignment I need to find out about Montessori teachers experiences with similarities, differences and complementary theories and practices of conventional and Montessori mathematics pedagogy.

I understand the main differences to be:
Montessori: Maths is presented with concrete, manipulative materials in a child-directed format.
Mainstream: Maths is studied as a separate subject and isolated discipline, in an abstract format, with the entire group of children moving together through the prescribed curriculum.

If anyone could take the time to talk about any experiences regarding the above, it would be gratefully received and appreciated. If you need clarification on anything please ask.

Thank you in advance.
Helen

Old 03-09-2007, 04:48 AM
Fanatic

Broward County Florida
Helen,
I am both traditional and montessori trained and would love to offer you an interesting perspective of your assignment....