A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > New Teachers

Old 02-15-2007, 07:53 PM
Newcomer

Oregon
HELP, Students are hitting on me!

I am a new fifth grade teacher at a K-8 school and I have an embarrassing problem-- the middle school aged boys keep hitting on me. I will walk by a group of them in the hall and one of them will whistle, cat call, or make a semi-obsecene comment at me! I don't really know how to react because I rarely know which boy is guilty. When things like that happen outside of school I either play deaf, or sometimes answer with an equally obscene comment. However, as a teacher, I am at a loss. I know that I am young (easily the youngest teacher at the school) so I always dress very professionally and am so careful about how I present myself.

My questions is, how do I respond to this in a way that will end all of this and cause them to respect me as a teacher?

Old 02-15-2007, 07:54 PM
Phenom

Next time it happens take the kid directly to the principal.... it's inexcusable behavior. Nip it in the bud.
Old 02-15-2007, 08:01 PM

Florida
You can't ignore it. If you don't know who the student is, turn to the group and give them all a stern warning that doesn't leave any doubt in their minds that you don't welcome the inappropriate comments.
Old 02-15-2007, 08:03 PM
Comrade

Florida
High School U.S. History