A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > New Teachers Archives

Old 11-19-2006, 09:32 AM
Habitué

USA
Special Education Teacher
Please critique my teaching philosophy!

I am a graduate student pursuing a Masters in Elementary Education and we need to develop a philosophy of education for our portfolios. I have SO much to say, but wanted to limit it to one page. Please let me know what you think. Thanks!

Educate…
I believe exceptional classroom management skills are the foundation for a productive learning environment. When expectations and procedures are clear and consistent, learning can take place. I believe in building a sense of community in the classroom and promoting positive relationships among students and teachers. Students must feel they are in a safe, fair, and comfortable environment where they can equally contribute by sharing and gaining knowledge. I believe all students are capable of learning. My constant goal as an educator is to ensure every student reaches his or her full academic potential. Differentiated instruction will be provided to accommodate all learning styles, abilities, and interests. I believe in using variety of alternate assessments and will provide individual feedback. I will promote an active learning environment where students will be encouraged to interpret, analyze, and predict information. As an educator, I will take advantage of the unique opportunity to teach beyond the mandated standards.

Motivate…