A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Behavior Management Archives

Old 09-27-2006, 04:36 AM
Newcomer

Indiana
Inner City Urban School Behavior Management

I work as a permanent building sub in an inner city school where most students have not been trained at home to behave and many are working below grade level and 70 percent qualify for free and reduced lunch. Before this experience, I was a believer in intrinisic rewards, but those kind of rewards fall on deaf ears in this environment. I would never have thought of using candy as a reward, but I have started using a fake money management system with candy. I give each student 3 dollars at beginning of day. If the students have any dollars at end of day, they may trade each dollar for one piece of small candy...tootsie pop, dum dum sucker, etc. This seems to work for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd, but 4th and 5th grade classes are another story.

I have been in one particular 5th grade classroom that is iparticularly disrespectful and has about 5 or 6 disruptive students. The regular teacher has class divided into tribes and uses a money managment system that allows tribes to pool their money. Well, I used his system the first day and it the whole class went haywire. Two students ended up in in-school suspension, while five others received referrals home for parent signatures. The 2nd day, I used my money management system with dollars and candy it worked slightly better. What worked better the 2nd day, was writing the letters R-E-C-E-S-S on board. Everytime they got loud, I would take away one letter and five minutes of recess (walking laps around track instead of playing with other kids). Each time, I erased a letter the class would quiet down and allow me to teach my lessons.