A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Elementary Education Archives

Old 09-23-2006, 02:05 PM
Novice

Georgia
Teacher Assistant checklist

Hi! This is my first time writing in. I am in need of some help with my teaching assistant. I moved to a brand new school this year in a different county and I have a teaching assisstant for the first time. At the beginning of the year I was very excited about having help in the classroom. However, the assistant that is working with me was previously in a middle school special ed. class. I don't think the teacher had her do much but work one-on-one with students. I have tried to tell her things I need her to do and I even gave her a detailed schedule of her day with tasks I need her to complete. She at times tries to do what I ask and other times she sit and read and painted her nails. Someone suggested I try a daily checklist. I was wondering if anyone had tried this and has a form that I can see to get a better idea of this.
Thanks for your help
Sandra

Old 09-24-2006, 08:40 PM
Rookie

Mississippi
hey!

I am a teachers assistant. I can't believe yours acts like that.

this is my 1st year in a school system. I do have a teaching cert (but for grades 7 - 12). I am assisting in the 1st grade.

My teacher gives me my own plan book with my groups info in it every week. Most of my teaching is just re-enforcing what she is instructing. During math, I help some of the slower kids or help a particular child one on one.

I have afterschool duties too. I have papers to file, copies to make and pencils to sharpen. I also have to fill water bottles, put chairs on the desks and put the garbage in the hall.

My teacher told me what was expected of me the 1st day I started. She is very nice and just said this was how her room was run and this set up works for her.