A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Early Childhood Education Archives

Old 08-02-2006, 04:28 PM
Novice

Illinois
Preschool Open House

Hi everyone! I am new to this site and I was wondering if someone would be able to help me! I have been teaching preschool for a little over 2 years now and I am getting ready to embark on a new adventure at a brand new preschool. We are having an open house in the next coming weeks and it is the Friday before school begins. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions? I really don't want the children running wildly around the room and I want to get the parents involved as well. Please help! Thanks in advance!

Old 08-02-2006, 04:48 PM
Rookie

new hampshire
If the environment dictates the tone of behaviors, I would recommend having many activities available that encourage small group interactions, i.e. playdoh table w/ 2-4 seats, beading necklaces, magnifiying glasses and something interesting to look at (have paper and pencils available for children to draw what they see), clear contact paper taped to a table upside down so children can stick colored tissue paper to it to create a group collage (stuck to a window when done it looks like stained glass!), block building, maybe with classical music playing in the back ground. Good luck!
Old 08-02-2006, 04:57 PM
Novice

Illinois