A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Elementary Education Archives

Old 07-28-2006, 08:17 PM
Rookie

Virginia
3rd Grade Teacher
Calendar time in 3rd grade?

I am a new teacher and will be teaching 3rd grade this fall. I know that calendar time is a valuable teaching opportunity in younger grades, such as K and 1, but I'm wondering how it can be used in 3rd grade. For example, in the kindergarten class I student taught in, we did activities such as weather (choosing a picture to correspond with that day's weather) and days of the week and months of the year, but these concepts are too basic for 3rd graders. I also student taught in 3rd grade, and we didn't do anything with a calendar. Have any of you done a more in-depth calendar routine with older grades? And if so, what kinds of concepts have you reinforced? I don't want it to be so easy that its boring and therefore not meaningful to them. Any thoughts would be appreciated!! Thanks

Old 07-28-2006, 08:34 PM
Companion

Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leans417
I am a new teacher and will be teaching 3rd grade this fall. I know that calendar time is a valuable teaching opportunity in younger grades, such as K and 1, but I'm wondering how it can be used in 3rd grade. For example, in the kindergarten class I student taught in, we did activities such as weather (choosing a picture to correspond with that day's weather) and days of the week and months of the year, but these concepts are too basic for 3rd graders. I also student taught in 3rd grade, and we didn't do anything with a calendar. Have any of you done a more in-depth calendar routine with older grades? And if so, what kinds of concepts have you reinforced? I don't want it to be so easy that its boring and therefore not meaningful to them. Any thoughts would be appreciated!! Thanks