A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > New Teachers Archives

Old 07-28-2006, 03:56 AM
Rookie

Florida
Welcome Letters

As a new teacher I am not really sure what to put in the welcome letters to the parents. Als if I should address the letters to parents or also should include "parents or guardians". I wanted to include some information about me in the letter but i don't want to say that this if my first year teaching..... any ideas???

Old 07-28-2006, 09:37 AM
Comrade

Indiana
1st Grade Teacher
i attached my parent letter....let me know if you have any suggestions for me. i took things from other letters i have seen and then added some important information for the beginning of school...
i also include a parent questionnaire about them for instance....email, phone number, how their child will get to school and home, allergies. so i have it all on one sheet.

August 14, 2006
Dear First Grade Families,

I would like to take the opportunity to introduce myself. My name is Jen Laughlin and I am honored to be your child’s first grade teacher. This is my third year of teaching but first year at Marlin Elementary and I am so excited to be here. I previously taught third grade and sixth grade at Childs Elementary.

I am looking forward to working with you and your child in reaching his or her full potential. We will have many wonderful experiences and opportunities to learn and grow in the days ahead.