A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Elementary Education Archives

Old 12-04-2002, 04:46 PM
Cohort

Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
Grading handwriting?

Does anyone grade handwriting? We have no curriculum, standards, or materials for this, but are expected to teach cursive (this is 3rd grade). It is not stressed at all; in fact, no one seems to care about it. A few of my kids still have barely legible manuscript.

What are the standards (manuscript or cursive) in your district? How do you judge the quality, or are you not supposed to? Should I crack down on those kids who have messy handwriting? How? Do you count handwriting as part of spelling tests and other assignments, or do you just grade on the content? Does anyone else think this is important!?!?

Thanks for your input!

Old 12-04-2002, 07:14 PM

I am a first year teacher and I hate teaching handwriting! I also have a hard time grading it, we dont have any standards for it...and I personally find that it is hard to...i feel that as long as it is neat...then its okay...i mean how much can you change a persons handwriting??!

Also , if any first grade teachers have a handwriting program that they like...let me know..i am going to attempt to convince my principal to get something new for next year!
Old 12-07-2002, 02:42 PM

Florida