A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Special Education Archives

Old 07-21-2006, 09:02 AM
Rookie

CA
Setting Up Classroom

With us having Special Education students, do you find that your room should be sent up very simply? I am just starting my first job and I am not sure how to set up my room or what type of materials I should post.

Can anyone offer some suggestions? Thanks!

Old 07-22-2006, 01:51 PM
Comrade

Los Angeles, CA area
Moderate/Severe Ambulatory H.S.
What types of students are you going to work with?

CJteacher,

What grade level are you going to be teaching and what types of disabilites will you be working with? If you give me an idea of what types of students you will be working with can give me an idea of how to structure your classroom. I currently work as an autism support teacher in a local middle school. I am employed by LACOE (Los Angeles County Office of Education) and we teach the students that districts are not able to find appropriate placements. I am trying to make a difference with the districts to show them that there are "county" teachers who care about the students. I am not just here for a paycheck, otherwise I wouldn't spend at least $15,000 out of my own pocket for classroom materials and supplies over the past 7 years! If you chose special education, make sure that you're not doing it just to get your foot in the door. It's very challenging but it also has hidden rewards. I wish you the best of luck.

Troy in Downey,CA
AspieTeacher
Old 07-22-2006, 06:16 PM
Rookie

CA