A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Early Childhood Education Archives

Old 10-30-2002, 06:09 PM
Companion

Pre-K food theme ideas

I am thinking of doing a theme on food (i.e. healthy vs. junk, veggie vs. fruit, etc). Has anyone done this before -- remember this is my first year teaching preschool so I need help .

I had some ideas:

Food printing (using veggies and fruits)
making a food "tray" (using a large sheet of construction paper as the place mat, gluing a paper plate to it w/cutouts of food glued on, plastic utensils)

I may have this theme lead into nutrition and health with a focus on dental hygiene.

Any other ideas I can borrow, please.

Also, can you suggest some books -- so far I have Green Eggs and Ham and a book called I Would Never Not Eat Tomatoes.

THANKS!!!

Old 10-30-2002, 08:52 PM
Cohort

Collingswood, NJ
Assistant Principal
Smile food ideas

Make a face with a big mouth. Have the kids feed the mouth pictures of healthy food and put pictures of unhealthy foods in a basket or trash can.

Have the kids make collages of their favorite foods.

Make three plates, one for breakfast, one lunch and one dinner. Show the children pictures of foods for these three meals and have them put them on the paper plates.

Read Growing Vegetable Soup by Lois Ehlert and make your own vegetable soup.

Plant lima bean seeds or another kind of fruit or vegetable.

Let the children examine fruits and vegetables that have been cut open in the sensory table.

Use kitchen gadgets (spatula, spoon, fork, whisk, etc.) to paint with.

Cut shapes into potatoes and make dip them in paint to make potato prints.
Old 10-31-2002, 07:13 PM

Florida