A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > New Teachers Archives

Old 06-17-2006, 07:19 AM
Rookie

Houston, Texas
Job interview ... what to wear?

First of all .... hi! I'm new here.

This might seem like an obvious question, but I'm a bit rusty on such things as job hunting, etc. I've been staying home with my kids and I haven't taught since the year 2000. My son is about to begin kindergarten, so I'm gearing up to launch into my job search. I'll be seeking a job as a secondary language arts teacher.

My standard dress for the past few years has been workout attire. I don't have anything interview-worthy in my wardrobe, so I'll have to go shopping. (I hate shopping, by the way.)

So what should I look for when I hit the mall? One of my non-teacher friends recommends a stern black or dark blue business suit. Isn't that a bit much? I was thinking I could get away with wearing a dark, below-the-knee skirt, and a short-sleeved blouse of some kind.

And what about my hair? My friend thinks I ought to pull it back in a bun, but I prefer to just pull it back with a large clip, which is much more casual.

Any thoughts? What did you wear for your last interview?

Old 06-17-2006, 07:37 AM

USA
Kindergarten Teacher
I have had three interviews so far this year. I wore a black suit with a short sleeved white blouse under it. The suit has a blazer and a skirt that comes below my knee. I wore my hair pulled back in a bun for the first two (which were on the same day) and yesterday I decided to try a braid instead. I thought maybe my hair pulled up in a bun made me look to rigid.
Last year on my interviews I had a black skirt that comes to my knee. and a white shirt with my hair in a bun. I was offered one part time job that I did not end up taking.
Old 06-17-2006, 07:47 AM
Multitudinous

NEW YORK
Math teacher
Hi, and welcome!!!