A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > General Education

Old 06-10-2014, 11:59 AM
Newcomer

Does teaching at a charter school = a ruined career?

Hi all, I'm a teacher who recently returned back to central Ohio and I've been hearing some rumors about teaching at charter schools. Recently, I've been told by several teachers that by taking a charter school position, I'll have a very, very difficult chance of getting a public school job later. It was stated that good teachers don't teach at charter schools; charter schools are seen as the place for mediocre teachers. Basically, it boils down to teaching at a charter school, at least here in Ohio = career suicide. Has anyone else heard something to this effect or is this just rumor mongering at its sensational best? Thank you!

Old 06-10-2014, 12:08 PM
Maven

Central Ohio
Online English Teacher
The deal in Ohio is that it is SUPER difficult to find any teaching work in several parts of the state, either in public, private, or charter schools. The ODE job bank has openings, but they are mostly for charter schools serving grade 4-9 students. I'm in a charter school now, and I know public school might look critically at it if I decided to go elsewhere, but I'm working full time working with kids. That is the important part to me.
Old 06-10-2014, 12:15 PM
Newcomer

Right, I've been on ODE's website and the vast majority of jobs are charter and not public. Am I better off trying to sub for the public school system or should I take a charter school position? I've been offered a charter school job, but I don't want to if it will damage my career. So, do the public schools look negatively at you if you are a charter school teacher? I'm just so confused.
Old 06-10-2014, 01:46 PM
Companion

California