A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Elementary Education

Old 01-12-2014, 07:50 AM
Novice

Kindergarten Teacher
Teaching kindergarten

I've mentioned before that this is my first year teaching and I am teaching kindergarten. To be honest, kindergarten would not have been my first choice. I want to love kindergarten, I do, but at this point it comes down to my not-so-great lesson planning and weak classroom management.

For lesson planning, I feel like I lose their interest quickly. The subjects I have big concerns with are reading, math, and ESL (I teach bilingual kindergarten). For those who you use Reading Street, Tesoros (for Spanish reading), Reach (for ESL) - what do your daily lesson plans look like? I feel like I have very little/or no time for centers time during my reading block, because I take a looong time reading the big book and doing independent practice.

It is so vital that I get to centers time though, because there are kids who are in dire need of small group with me.

What are some tips/strategies/etc. that I MUST include in my lesson plans to have variety to keep my kids attention. When my kids lose interest, that's when they don't get what I'm teaching.

As for classroom management, this semester I started an individual and a whole group rewards system. I've been using the color chart all year, and will continue to do so (I've added a new color, purple, to encourage students to get purple)

It's mid year, and these are still my concerns.

Old 01-12-2014, 01:00 PM
Groupie

Out west somewhere!