A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > General Education

Old 11-18-2013, 01:57 PM
Fanatic

California
Vice Principal (K-5)
You Can't Please Everyone!

As a first year administrator, I've come to terms with the fact that no matter how hard I work, I'll never be able to please 100% of my staff.

I had to have a difficult conversation with a teacher recently. I ended the conversation with the following sentences: "We have to do what's best for our kids. Are you asking me to do what's easier for YOU? Keep in mind that what's most convenient for US isn't always in the best interest of our students!"

As per usual, I was very calm and professional. I think I got my point across, though.

Old 11-18-2013, 02:11 PM
Phenom

Midwest
That stinks... but way to stay professional...
Old 11-18-2013, 02:57 PM
Aficionado

good for you staying professional.

But as a first year administrator, please keep in mind that just because it is better for a child, doesn't mean it is reasonable to request of a teacher. Teachers are people too and deserve consideration.

For instance, I knew a student that claimed he needed one-on-one tutoring every day in order to keep up with information. He said that he got too distracted during class and wanted to have his History teacher teach him before school, alone, so he could have a jumpstart on the material. A first year administrator in the school promised the student and parent that his teacher would devote her prep time before school to him every day. The admin said the same thing you did - we need to do what is best for the child, not what is easiest for the teacher.

That was incredibly disrespectful towards the teacher.
Old 11-18-2013, 03:09 PM
Fanatic

California
Vice Principal (K-5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2ndTimeAround View Post
good for you staying professional.