A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Third Grade

Old 10-05-2013, 10:18 AM
Rookie

Florida
Student Teacher
Question Any ideas on how to teach this?

Hi, I am a student currently interning in a 3rd grade classroom in a state that has just adopted the Common Core Standards. I have to teach a lesson that has these kinds of problems:

"Miguel is thinking of a 5-digit odd number between 48960 and 49058. the ones digit is 3 more than the tens digit. What number could Miguel be thinking of?"

I have gone over what digits are, and reviewed odd and even numbers. The students are having trouble putting all of the clues in the problem together to solve it though. I have absolutely no idea how to teach them how to do this.

Before CCS, some teachers in my school have been hand holding and "helping" students complete their work- students in this class have very poorly developed critical thinking and problem solving skills.

Does anyone have any ideas or strategies I can use to teach the kinds of problems mentioned above?

Thank you!

Old 10-05-2013, 10:45 AM
Fanatic

Central Valley of California
High School English (Alt. Ed.)
I have no idea who to teach it, but if I had to do it (without math teaching background) I would just take the problem apart and use logic and elimination.
1. Look at the problem and pick out the cues:
it has be an odd number. So whatever number he's thinking of will have to end in 3, 5, 7 or 9
2. the numbers are between 48960 and 49058 so they have to fall into this range.
3 tell students that there are lots of good answers, not just one.
4. test an answer starting from the beginning: 48960 + 3= 48963, could that be it? no, because 3 is not 3 more than 6.
5. what is 6 + 3? = 9, so could it be 48969? yes, why? it is odd. the ones digit is 3 more than the tens. It falls within the range.