A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > General Education

Old 09-23-2013, 02:51 PM
Novice

Middle School Teacher
Teacher from previous year hardly taught subject

I am a French teacher. Where I live, it is the law that students must begin French instruction in grade 4 for a minimum of 30 minutes on a daily basis. Students must continue to take French for at least this amount of time up until grade 9.

Well. My grade 7 class informed me today that they received a grand total of 1 hour of French instruction last year in grade 6. That's it. One hour for a whole academic year. They said their teacher ran out of time at the end of the school day and had no time to teach them French!

I am rather irate. It is hard enough to have students meet curriculum expectations if they receive the legal minimum of instruction, let alone if they receive virtually no instruction at all.

No wonder students have a hard time taking French seriously if teachers and admin do not take it seriously.

Math teachers: can you imagine if your students informed you of the same thing? That their teacher just ran out of time at the end of the school today and had no time to teach math? Just 1 year of lost instruction...no biggie! Oh, and now you are expected to catch all the students up and have them meet grade level expectations.

Very frustrated!!

What would you do? Have you ever experienced something similar?

Old 09-23-2013, 02:53 PM
Multitudinous

NEW YORK
Math teacher
Well, for starters, I would take it with a grain of salt.

Give them a baseline assessment... something along the lines of last year's final exam.

Then take the results, along with what they've told you, to your department chair, AP, or Principal.

They'll show growth, but may not make it to where they should be. But make sure that administration knows where you're starting.
Old 09-23-2013, 03:01 PM