A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Special Education

Old 07-28-2013, 10:31 PM
Comrade

Virginia
Special Education Teacher
Back to school activity for students with Learning Disabilities?

I am a first year LD teacher... and I am having trouble with thinking of a back to school activity/ break the ice/ introduce yourself to the class activity.

I need something that is engaging, but not too difficult for my students. I keep finding stuff online but it incorporates alot of reading and writing on behalf of the students, and I'm not sure if my kids would be able to do that independently, any suggestions?

Old 07-28-2013, 10:39 PM
Aficionado

North Carolina
4th Grade Teacher
What grades?
Old 07-29-2013, 12:34 AM
Aficionado

New Jersey, US
Looking for a job
What grades? What kind of classroom? Co-teaching/Inclusion? Resource? Self-contained?
Old 07-29-2013, 06:02 AM
Comrade

Virginia
K-2 resource
Old 07-29-2013, 06:31 AM
Multitudinous

New Jersey
Grade 3
How about using a pre cut out shape...(I've seen tee shirts, sneakers, footprints for example)... Then have kids decorate with pictures and words about themselves, what they like, their favorite school subjects...have kids share when finished and hang up on bb with saying such as:

Tee-riffic students
Stepping into a new year
Off on the right foot...
Old 07-29-2013, 09:45 AM
Comrade

Virginia
I love that idea !!! Thank you : )
Old 07-29-2013, 08:23 PM
Enthusiast

7th Grade Special Education
I had students do collages of people/things that inspired them. I hung them up on part of our wall and referred to them throughout the year when work got difficult.
Old 07-30-2013, 04:03 AM
Comrade

Virginia
I like that idea as well : ) I think that would be cute to get them to make their own collages and that they are able to reflect on them throughout the year.
Old 07-30-2013, 11:29 AM