A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > New Teachers

Old 07-22-2013, 06:11 AM
Comrade

Virginia
Special Education Teacher
Where do Teachers buy professional clothes?

I am a first year sped teacher, I want to make a good impression, not sure if I should wear suits everyday or if I should wear casual business attire.

But I want to know, What stores should I find my clothes ( Macys, Target, New York Lerner, etc)? Where do teachers find clothes of good quality? ( I want to look professional as if I were a principal or something)

Old 07-22-2013, 06:39 AM
Guru

I've never been in a school where ANYONE wears suits, but of course your school environment may different. I'd say, though, you won't need to wear a suit every day to make a good impression. I'll let others provide clothing advice. (I'm no good at that.)
Old 07-22-2013, 06:43 AM
Maven

Central Ohio
Online English Teacher
My best teacher clothes (from when I was still in a traditional classroom and now when I attend professional meetings and student-attended events) are from Macy's. I like the selection, and I love that their petite section has pants the correct length for my short legs. I'm a big fan of DKNY in particular for its business-casual polish.

Honestly, I would try on Target clothing and move around in the dressing room before you buy it. I've found the tops are too low and cannot be worn without a tank top beneath them. Very disappointing.
Old 07-22-2013, 06:57 AM
Enthusiast

I usually go to JC Penney. I find that Learner NY clothes are cut a little too close for teaching and if I go a size up they are too big. I don't wear a suit, but I teach in a tropical climate and my principal doesn't even wear suits. Kohls is good too.
Old 07-22-2013, 07:46 AM
Fanatic

Ohio
Middle/High School English