A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Elementary Education

Old 07-18-2013, 12:02 PM
Novice

TN
Job Seeker
private school

How many of you are private school teachers? I have taught in the public school systems for 6 years and am considering keep private schools as an option for employment. Can you tell me about what you feel are the pros and cons, likes and dislikes, etc.?

Old 07-19-2013, 10:11 AM
Novice

Minnesota
5th/6th Grade Teacher
I'm a private school teacher and I love it. I actually get paid a teensy tiny bit more than I would in the public school, so that's a plus, but there are no benefits. That said, every private school is different. My good friend's parents taught at a private school and made significantly less than I do, even 20 years into it. It all depends on the school and their policies.

Pros: I feel like I have more say in things as a teacher and feel like they value my input more than they would at a public school. Again, this is all relative to the district, public OR private.

I also LOVE the smaller class sizes and the opportunities to go on more field trips than I would get in public school.

Behavior is MUCH better than it is at public school, again--this is all relative.

I feel like my job is more secure as a new teacher.

Cons: I love my job and there aren't many cons, but I do miss the camaraderie you get with other teachers in the public school. Our staff is SO SMALL that there really aren't that many people to bounce ideas off of and become friends with, although there still ARE people, just not as many.