A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Job Seekers

Old 03-27-2013, 09:45 AM
Rookie

Indiana
6th Grade Teacher
Cover Letter-- Critique Please!

I know that this is very lengthy but I am bad about cutting out material. Any advise would be greatly valued.

February 18, 2013
Dear :
I am interested in applying for general education teaching position at [Elementary]. As a May 2011 graduate from [College], I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Education along with a minor in Psychology.
Currently I am an interventionist and technology instructor at [Elementary] in [district]. As an interventionist, I work with three small groups on reading and writing skills. I develop lessons and evaluate the students daily. This allows me to know what skills to focus on in the next lesson. By continuously assessing and adapting lessons based on the students’ needs, I am able to help them grow, not only in reading and writing, but also in their confidence to pursue these tasks.
As the technology instructor, I have been honored to create a new curriculum and to develop integrated lesson plans for all of the kindergartners in the district. Every class has brought a unique set of learning styles and personalities. In this position I have not only had to differentiate my lessons for individual students but also from class to class. This position has challenged me and taught me so much about teaching.
Before this position, I student taught at [Elementary] in [District] where I had the pleasure of teaching a diverse group of 4th grade students. I developed a variety of lessons and assessments to meet the needs of the students’ different learning styles. Student teaching reaffirmed my passion for teaching.