A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Special Education

Old 02-07-2013, 07:59 PM
Novice

USA
Student/Teacher Boundaries

Before I became a teacher I never imagined how hard it would be to navigate student/teacher boundaries. Because I'm a young teacher, a lot of my high school students come to me with their problems. I had two issues come up today that I need advice with.

1) One student told me she's bulimic. She said she doesn't want anyone else to know. Am I required to tell her parents or at least the school psychologist?

2) A student asked if I could sit with her while she makes an appt. for STD testing at Planned Parenthood. Should I stay away form this situation?

I'm afraid that if I tell their parents, the parents will freak out (understandably) and then the students won't trust me again.

What do I do?

Old 02-07-2013, 08:22 PM
Multitudinous

New Jersey
Grade 3
How did you react initially?
Old 02-07-2013, 08:38 PM
Connoisseur

CA.
1st Grade Teacher
One thing I would advise is being clear you cannot promise not to tell and explain if you believe that they are being hurt or hurting someone it is a requirement to tell. I am sure some high school teachers on here have better wording for it. I would say the bulimic child at least talk to a nurse. The Planned Parenthood issue be cautious about telling anyone some states have laws that parents cannot be informed without the child's permission.
Old 02-07-2013, 08:39 PM
Novice

USA
When the student told me about being bulimic she opened up her arms like she wanted a hug so I gave her a hug. I told her that if she ever feels very very sick or throws up blood to tell an adult right away.