A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > General Education

Old 02-04-2013, 09:57 AM
Newcomer

Boston, MA, USA
"Constant" Long-Term Substitute
Becoming Discouraged in Job Search

I am 29 years old and have been working as a Teaching Assistant in the Special Education Department at the same school for 4 years now. I have my Masters Degree from Simmons College and am licensed to teach both Social Studies and Science at the Middle School level.

Even though I have had two stints as a long-term substitute, covering for leaves of absence (one social studies, and one science); I am beginning to fear that I will not get a full-time teaching position.

I feel that I may just be passed over as more and more younger candidates flood the "market" behind me... Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for listening to me vent...

Old 02-04-2013, 11:04 AM
Fanatic

PA
5th grade teacher
I don't really have any specific advice, but I wanted to let you know that I was 35 when I started teaching. The year I started my department hired three people and of the three I was the youngest, the other two were in their 40s or 50s. The person hired before me was also in her 40s. At my current school our new music teacher is in her 30s and the teacher that was hired to replace a third grade teacher who quit is in her 30s. We had one new staff member this fall and she is in her 20s. So, what I am getting at is that at least in my experience, you being 29 shouldn't matter at all, and based on my district it actually puts you on the young end of the scale.

Keep looking, look in as broad of an area as possible, and do the very best job in any LTS position you're able to get. Good luck to you.
Old 02-04-2013, 07:45 PM
Connoisseur

AZ
5th Grade Teacher
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowKey View Post