A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Kindergarten

Old 01-26-2013, 02:23 PM
Companion

New York
Kindergarten
When/how do you introduce long vowel sounds?

My curriculum (Journeys) has me focusing on a letter per week. I'm not especially fond of this method, especially since it's January and it's only had me introduce 9 letters. I focus on all of the letters daily, but do "extra" activities to focus on the specific letter the curric. wants me to. However, I've noticed this series gives no time for long vowel sounds. Do you teach these at the same time as the short sounds? For example, Monday we're starting /i/...Should I also focus on the long i? Thanks for your help! This is my first year in K, and I'm just not sure what the best method is for introducing long and short...I know it can be very confusing for the little ones!

Old 01-26-2013, 05:24 PM
Multitudinous

Calif.
Current wisdom is that one starts with the short vowels, or to be precise with CVC words (consonant-vowel-consonant): a vowel sandwiched between two consonants with no silent e is almost invariably short, and the regularity helps kids gain confidence in their decoding skills as they're getting the hang of recognizing and decoding the consonants. Long vowels vary much more widely in their spelling, so it makes some sense to hold off on those until kids have the consonants pretty well mastered.
Old 01-26-2013, 05:26 PM
Aficionado

USA
TeacherGroupie's comments would be my thoughts as well. I would be concerned that your curriculum has only introduced 9 letter sounds, although I see you are in Pre-K, so maybe that has to do with it. Typically curriculum-pacing should follow mastery of material, not a set time frame, so I would think it should be appropriate to move on to new letter sounds if the class demonstrates mastery of the existing letter sounds.