A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > General Education

Old 01-24-2013, 03:59 PM
Connoisseur

USA
Science
I'm a science teacher who has been assigned to 9th grade English

I saw the schedules for the coming year and I saw I was teaching 9th grade English. I assumed it was a mistake until I went to my email and saw my director asking me if I was okay with teaching English.

I have a degree in Bio Ed, I honestly never even liked English. Plus this will be more of ESL since all the kids have Spanish or German as a first language. Although their English is at a very high level. At least spoken.

I wrote my director back saying I am NOT comfortable teaching English at such a high level and that it would be a disservice to the kids. She wrote me back basically pleading me to teach it. She says there is some English director this year who can help me, so that I'll always be supported. But, there's only two other English teachers in the entire school. We're very small.

School starts in 2 weeks (remember our year is February-December) so there's no way she can find another English teacher in that small amount of time. I'm almost 100% sure they'll make me teach until they "find someone new" and then never "find someone new". She wants to speak with me personally on Wednesday when we go back in.

What do I do?? I know I should just say again that I don't want to for a), b), and c) reasons. But they'll still say "just do it til we find someone new" Because otherwise there won't be anyone.

I hate how people assume that just because I am a native English speaker that I can teach the language. I would be more okay with it if it were more like read a book, discuss a book, write your opinion. That's what I did in high school (IB program). But I bet I'll have to teach grammar. I don't even know the rules of grammar!

Ugh. I'm so stressed out!