A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > General Education

Old 01-24-2013, 05:19 AM
Fanatic

North Carolina
2nd grade teacher
My team is falling apart and we're becoming the talk of the school

I'm so sad about this. I don't want to get into too many details, but what started off rough has become a monster. For some reason my team has never gotten together to plan at all. Three of us (of 7) do try to help each other, but we're all new. Even though it's my 5th year, I'm new to the district, school, and the grade, so I feel like I'm no help to the other 2 who are 1st year.

Lately some of my teammates have been publicly turning on each other. Yesterday there was some cattiness at a staff meeting. The other teachers were turning their bodies to look/listen in and I was appalled. My principal has even started to notice but he's done nothing to help. Making matters worse, I'm fighting to keep my job and I just re-interviewed for the new magnet program next year. I talked about how I love to collaborate, blah blah, but I'm sure to him it doesn't look that way!!

All year I've tried to stay neutral and friendly but it's gotten more and more difficult. Several teachers on my team have made it clear they're not returning (some are transferring and some retiring) so they have a "why bother" attitude.

It's so bad I've lost sleep over it. Any advice?

Old 01-24-2013, 05:38 AM
Multitudinous

USA
Kindergarten Teacher
As much as possible, stay away from the teachers who are causing the distress on your team. Keep your door closed when you have planning time if you can.
Old 01-24-2013, 11:21 AM
Multitudinous

Calif.
No advice, Pisces - but hugs to you.
Old 01-24-2013, 11:42 AM
Multitudinous