A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Special Education

Old 01-14-2013, 05:31 PM
Rookie

Kindergarten Teacher
Rough day vent

Just to preface this vent. I am in my second year of teaching a self contained emotionally disturbed K/1 class. Last year I had all K, so this year I have most of my students from last year and some new one's thrown into the mix. My split is 9 first graders and 3 kindergarteners.

This year so far has been insane. The mix of the kids this year just isn't working. I have too many leaders and no followers. Mostly they are defiant, but I have students who are not only defiant but agressive and combative. I am constantly breaking up scuffles in the room. To top it off I have 2 children who scream at the wall that seperates my room from the other room, and yes that teacher hears the screaming.

The rest of the program is located at another school, I'm by myself because there was no room. Because I am all by myself, I have none of the resources that the other school has such as a seperate area that the students can calm down it. I try to talk to the head of my program but because this person is rarely there I don't get the advice needed.

I am constantly going to my principal for help with this bunch and she is great but I feel like I am asking for too much at times. I feel like I have no sort of control when I do, they are improving but some days it;s like a circus. In the past year I have been hit, kicked, and bitten countless times. I almost had the tip of my finger bitten off, and my hair has been pulled so many times that I now wear my hair in a tight bun and hairspray it to my head.

I'm exhausted.

I'm sorry about the vent. and advice? or words of wisdom

Thanks

Old 01-14-2013, 06:38 PM
Companion

USA