A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Preschool

Old 01-14-2013, 02:35 PM
Novice

Florida
Bad VPK Lead Teacher Interview (UPDATE!)

Hi, everyone. I've been a lurker for a long time, but something today finally happened to push me to become a member because I need some advice and maybe you can share some interview stories. I live in Florida. I've had a few stints in childcare since I was fifteen years old (I'm 20 now). Most of them were short-lived because they were summer jobs or I had to concentrate on college. They were always assistant teacher positions as well. However, I do have my DCF hours, I have my staff credential (which is equivalent to a CDA), and I was just awarded a director's credential with a VPK endorsement. On top of that, I have an associate's degree in Early Childhood Management and I am currently getting a Bachelor's degree in Early Childhood Education.

I applied to two VPK lead teacher positions last week and heard back very quickly from them on Friday. Both wanted to schedule an appointment on Monday (today). I was a bit nervous because I felt it was too soon, but I decided to give it a shot.

The first interview actually went pretty well (at least I thought so). I was interviewed by three people and I had a really good time. I'm not sure if I will get the job or not, but I had a good interview experience.

The second interview, however, was just a disaster. When I came in for my interview, the director was rude to me right off the bat. She was actually rude to me on the phone when she called to schedule an interview with me. I just thought she was having a bad day, so I pushed it aside. However, I have a feeling that wasn't the case.