A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Secondary Education

Old 12-04-2012, 12:19 PM
Rookie

Tennessee
High School Teacher
Job in Danger: How to get students' respect?

I'm in my first year and my kids hate me. They're openly disrespectful: not paying attention and listening to headphones when I'm teaching, talking when I'm trying to give directions, breaking the same rules about no food or drink in class every day and pretending they didn't know, etc. They constantly tell me how I suck as a teacher, how I'm mean and play favorites, how they want out of my class, how their parents are going to come and scream at me, and one kid today said she was going to have me fired before storming out of class in the closing seconds.

I'm sick of it. But when I try to do anything about it, it just makes it worse. I try going over my rules (simple stuff... stay in your seat and be quiet unless given permission; no food, drinks, or cell phones; respect me and your classmates; listen and follow directions; hands and feet to yourself). I try going over procedures and modeling them... but when I do this, the kids go off saying they're not little kids and shouldn't be disrespected like that. Then the problem starts all over again.

For example, about twice a week my first block class falls apart. I walk in and try to teach, but when I try to redirect students who aren't paying attention to the material or tell them to stop talking or stay in their seats, they start talking back, usually screaming at me. I tell them I'm not going to argue with them and if they have something to say, they should stay after class and we'll discuss it. They keep escalating it. I send the students who are being particularly disrespectful out to the hall or to the office.