A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Secondary Education

Old 11-30-2012, 01:35 PM
Newcomer

Teacher Ed student seeking advice..does your minor matter?

Hello!
Sorry if this thread is in the wrong place..
I am currently in my junior year of college majoring in Secondary Education. I've had some questions recently and I have talked to the advising office at my school but I didn't feel like they could give me as complete answers as someone actually IN the field could..

My question is mostly about my minor. My major is in English and I've started to minor in Biological Sciences. I really like Biology and I've heard science teachers are more in demand, so I thought this was a good route to take. BUT then I found out about a lot of prerequisites for the biology classes I need that will push back my graduation date pretty far, and are classes that have been difficult for me in the past (chemistry and math). I've been considering switching to an "easier" minor.

My question is, does your minor really matter when going into education? Can you teach what you minor in? If so, is it a terrible idea to switch my minor? I was thinking about changing it to Health Education or Mass Communications...but I'm aware that there isn't much demand for either of these fields. Everyone tells me that no one is hiring for English teachers, so I was hoping to minor in something that would make me more hireable. In your experience, is it very difficult to get a job as an English teacher? Should I even be worrying about my minor?

Thanks for any help at all

Old 11-30-2012, 02:28 PM
Cohort

California
4th Grade Teacher