A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Special Education

Old 11-29-2012, 02:39 PM
Comrade

Virginia
Special Education Teacher
Violent child?

I am a student teacher in special education and my biggest fear about the profession is working with a child that is violent. I can handle paperwork, or even a child that has ADHD that is constantly out of their seat or playing, but I am deathly afraid to work with children that are violent. How do you work with a child that is violent towards teachers and other students?

I know you aren't allowed to hit them back, but are you allowed to restrain them?

Also, are violent children ( in special education) usually found in ED (emotional disorder) or ASD ( autism) classes ?
Which areas of special education should I avoid, if I don't want to work with violent children? ( I'll work with any other disability) Any suggestions?

Old 11-29-2012, 02:56 PM
Aficionado

USA
So, definitely a lot of questions! First, there's a difference between "violent" and "aggressive," with "violent" usually referring to extreme actions like school shootings. I'm thinking you're mostly referring to aggression, as violence tends to be rare and hard to avoid/predict when it does occur, at least from a classroom teach perspective.

A few thoughts on your other questions:

1) Certainly you'll more likely have higher rates of aggression in ED/ASD classes, with lower incidence (though not necessarily no incidents) in LD classes. There are also different types of aggression. In classes with kids who are extremely low functioning, you might have a significant amount of aggression, but that's likely to be different from other types of aggression. I guess the question is, are you uncomfortable with the sheer physicality of the situation, or the emotional intensity of the situation?