A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Kindergarten

Old 11-29-2012, 09:18 AM
Novice

How can I learn all about kindergarten???

Hello!

I am a first year teacher. I am currently teaching a 7th grade technology course, and coaching 2 sports. I work very long hours with the coaching, usually about 12 hours a day! I can't complain though because I am completely loving it

However, I've always considered teaching kindergarten, but I've been too scared! I felt that middle school would be an easier place for me to start in the teaching profession. But now, I am ready to start learning as much as I possibly can about kindergarten!! I've been looking online to find resources that will give me sort of a "kindergarten teaching for dummies" feel. I want to know everything!

Can anyone suggest a place for me to start learning about this from a blank slate? It seems like there is so much to learn that its difficult to find a good starting point.

-Kelly

Old 11-29-2012, 09:26 AM
Cohort

New York
Facilitator
In a kindergarten class. There is no substitute for real experiences.

I taught art to Kindergarteners for 1 year, not much experience at all really. I followed my curriculum, I planned, I tried different strategies, etc. I did okay. They had fun and I'm sure we came away with some knowledge and art skills. Still I feel I have no idea how to approach kindergartners. I think when I encounter this age group I become deer in headlights.
Old 11-29-2012, 04:33 PM
Comrade

Kindergarten Teacher
I realize that you may not be able to spend time in a K room because you are currently teaching during the day, but it truely is the best way to learn. Some areas now require that you have an early childhood degree to teach K, so you will want to check out your area's requirements.