A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > General Education

Old 11-15-2012, 02:19 PM
Maven

Central Ohio
Online English Teacher
Balancing teacher and student work

Woohoo! I've just been accepted into an M.Ed. program for Curriculum and Instruction! Happy dance! I'll be taking two classes a semester (including summers) for the next two years and earn a Teacher Leader endorsement.

Um, what do I do now? I'm in my fifth year of teaching and have finally gotten the time management down to a science. Now I'm going to have to be much more artful. I'm sure a lot of you have been down this road. How do you handle the workload? How has your home life fared through the process? Am I completely INSANE?

Old 11-15-2012, 02:38 PM
Multitudinous

USA
Kindergarten Teacher
Congrats!

You find a way. When I completed my masters, I was taking a new class every 5 weeks. It was all about keeping a large schedule with when assignments needed to be completed. I also ordered my texts on tape so that I could listen to them on my drive everyday (this may not be as helpful for you).

My husband and I did well...but I did most of my school work when he was working, so he wouldn't have even really noticed.
Old 11-15-2012, 02:46 PM
Aficionado

Kentucky
Middle School Teacher
I did my masters while teaching multiple classes. I did all my teacher work in the evenings at home, and I did all of my grad school work on the weekends.

I had to do my teacher work at home since I didn't have a classroom. I didn't have any place to work, and the school didn't have lounge with workspace.

I had to make time on weekends to go to the university. When I had research to do since i got my degree pre-internet. My classes met one night a week on campus from 6:00-9:00, and I took one or two classes a semester.