A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > New Teachers

Old 10-28-2012, 04:52 PM
Newcomer

Music Teacher
Quite discouraged, advice needed!

I'm a first year teacher in a rough school district. I teach middle school (6-8) with 95% of our kiddos on free lunch. I'm very frustrated right now and considering leaving education.

Teaching is seriously becoming a "Why am I putting myself through this?" Thing. Is it that I'm too stubborn to quit? I don't want to disappoint people close to me? That I'm too over-educated to do much else? That I'm the breadwinner and without my income, we don't live?

I'm unhappy. More-so than I've ever been in my entire life. I'm depressed. I thought I knew the dark side of depression in college. It's got nothing on this.

What's making me so miserable? I'm not really sure. I think it's the behavior issues I'm having, and the fact that my hands are really tied.

Kids talk all choir. So I follow the prescribed discipline chart and move them. That doesn't help. They just yell across the room. When they are asked to be quiet, they give me an attitude the size of the state. At which point you are removed from rehearsal and given an alternate assignment. (Theory, a paper on behavior , copying from the dictionary, music math). I've also had to do this with whole classes, when most of the class acts up. I drag them to the cafeteria, make them sit one to a table, and write an essay.

Then I give them detention, per the next step. They don't bother to show-up. I call home. It's hit or miss if I'll actually find anyone to talk to. Most tell me, "They are the same way at home and I don't know what to do."