A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Elementary Education

Old 09-24-2012, 09:15 AM
Newcomer

New York
Elementary School Furniture

Hello everyone,

I am posting a thread in regards to elementary school furniture. I am a current student at Pratt Institute (Brooklyn NY) and studying industrial design.

For my senior thesis, I wanted to work on durable furniture that helps facilitate learning in the classrooms. I've visited a few after school programs(and will visit schools soon) and noticed that they lack a lot of necessary tools because of budget cuts or other financial reasons. I wanted to create simple modular pieces that can be constructed into a desk, chair, bookshelf, and cubby holes according to the number of students and needs for a class. I will also be doing a lot of material research to make sure that it will last longer to save money and be better for the environment.

The reason I am posting a thread is to ask for any complaints or relative experiences they have had in their classrooms so that I can incorporate it into my design. I am currently going to visit local schools, but obviously not every school is going to be the same. Please let me know if there is anything I am missing, and some feedback on the idea.

Thanks and have a great day.

Old 09-24-2012, 11:26 AM
Fanatic

Oklahoma
Kindergarten Teacher
Think about the weight of the objects if they are going to serve multi-purposes. Also can they grow with students?
Old 09-24-2012, 03:52 PM
Enthusiast

7th Grade Special Education
Adjustable things are great!

Also, things that can't get easily scratched/broken/destroyed.
Old 09-25-2012, 04:49 AM
Habitué

Substitute Teacher
Agree about adjustable. One class can have kids of many sizes and body types. Also, things the kids can safely move on their own.
Old 09-25-2012, 02:41 PM
Groupie

Wisconsin
Primary Elementary Teacher
Washable