A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Early Childhood Education Archives

Old 08-11-2002, 09:57 PM

Name tags ideas

Help, I am a new preschool teacher and have all 3 year olds in my class. I am use to having 5,4 and 3 year olds together in a class. I need some ideas for name tags to help children identify their names. Such as: Do I use all the same pattern? Do I use a diffferent sticker on each name tag? Do I use different shapes? Let me know some of your ideas.

Thank you,

Brenda

Old 08-11-2002, 10:26 PM
pmts02

I would use all the same name tags.
Old 08-12-2002, 04:11 AM

Have you tried name tags with their picture on it?
Old 08-12-2002, 10:09 AM
Comrade

Thumbs up

I would definitely use symbols or shapes (sun, moon, flower, fish, etc...). I have my students name tags on the table covered with contact paper. They all have a symbol (from Ellison Machine), because my younger ones are not ready to recognize their name, but need to know their spot. I've found that the ones that are ready will start to recognize name even if one a symbol. I have written their names on a sentence strip (with no symbol) and put in art center. That way anyone who wants to practice tracing or writing their name can find theirs and do so.
Old 08-12-2002, 10:18 AM
pmts02

I WOULD USE THE SAME NAME TAGS FOR ALL OF THEM.
Old 08-12-2002, 12:55 PM
Cohort

Collingswood, NJ
Assistant Principal
nametags

I would use two or three different name tags that go along with the central theme of your classroom. For example, in my KG class my room theme is under the sea. I will be using an octopus, a starfish, and a fish.
Old 08-12-2002, 01:37 PM
Pre-k Montessori Teacher

Thumbs up name tags/attendance chart